Hawaiian Legations and Consulates in 1893

On January 17, 1893, Foreign Legations accredited to the Court of the Hawaiian Kingdom in the city of Honolulu included the United States of America, Portugal, Great Britain, France and Japan. A Legation is a diplomatic mission in a foreign country headed by an Envoy Extraordinary and Minister Plenipotentiary. After the Second World War legations were considered embassies. Foreign Consulates in the Hawaiian Kingdom included the United States of America, Italy, Chile, Germany, Sweden-Norway, Denmark, Peru, Belgium, Netherlands, Spain, Austria-Hungary, Russia, Great Britain, Mexico and China.

-Follow Hawaiian Kingdom news and updates on Twitter: @HKSpokesperson

Hawaiian Legations accredited abroad to foreign States included:

  1. United States of America in the city of Washington, D.C.;
  2. Great Britain in the city of London;
  3. France in the city of Paris,
  4. Russia in the city of Saint Petersburg;
  5. Peru in the city of Lima; and
  6. Chile in the city of Valparaiso.

Hawaiian Consulates abroad in foreign States included:

  1. United States of America in the cities of New York, San Francisco, Philadelphia, San Diego, Boston, Portland, Port Townsend and Seattle;
  2. Mexico in Mexico city and the city of Manzanillo; Guatemala;
  3. Peru in the city of Callao;
  4. Chile in the city of Valparaiso;
  5. Uruguay in the city of Monte Video;
  6. Philippines (former Spanish territory) in the city of Iloilo and Manila;
  7. Great Britain in the cities of London, Bristol, Hull, Newcastle on Tyne, Falmouth, Dover, Cardiff and Swansea, Edinburgh and Leith, Glasgow, Dundee, Queenstown, Belfast;
  8. Ireland (former British territory) in the cities of Liverpool, and Dublin;
  9. Canada (former British territory) in the cities of Toronto, Montreal, Bellville, Kingston Rimouski, St. John’s, Varmouth, Victoria, and Vancouver;
  10. Australia (former British territory) in the cities of Sydney, Melbourne, Brisbane, Hobart, and Launceston;
  11. New Zealand (former British territory) in the cities of Auckland and Dunedin;
  12. China in the cities of Hong Kong and Shanghai;
  13. France in the cities of Paris, Marseilles, Bordeaux, Dijon, Libourne and Papeete;
  14. Germany in the cities of Bremen, Hamburg, Frankfort, Dresden and Karlsruhe;
  15. Austria in the city of Vienna;
  16. Spain in the cities of Barcelona, Cadiz, Valencia Malaga, Cartegena, Las Palmas, Santa Cruz and Arrecife de Lanzarote;
  17. Portugal in the cities of Lisbon, Oporto Madeira, and St. Michaels;
  18. Cape Verde (former Portuguese territory) in the city of St. Vincent;
  19. Italy in the cities of Rome, Genoa, and Palermo;
  20. Netherlands in the cities of Amsterdam and Dordrecht;
  21. Belgium in the cities of Antwerp, Ghent, Liege and Bruges;
  22. Sweden in the cities of Stockholm, Lyskil, and Gothemburg;
  23. Norway in the city of Oslo (formerly known as Kristiania);
  24. Denmark in the city of Copenhagen; and
  25. Japan in the city of Tokyo.

11 thoughts on “Hawaiian Legations and Consulates in 1893

  1. Aloha…thanks for that break down of this part of the history we need to know and understand…it helps the reader to focus attention and mind, to the subject at hand.
    The comments we have are: “WoW! Thank you for the Kaona.

  2. The Hawaiian Kingdom in 1893, as you’ve stated had foreign legations with 6 countries and later after World War II, foreign consulates with 25 countries. Does the Hawaiian consulate continue to exist in each country since the overthrow in 1898? If it does exist, Who are the foreign consulates negotiating for Hawaii? If it doesn’t exist, What happened to the foreign consulates?

    • Hawaiian legations and consulates that existed in 1893 are no longer manned as a result of the occupation. The foreign consulates currently operating in the Hawaiian Islands are operating under the U.S. treaty with those countries and not the Hawaiian Kingdom treaties. As a result, these foreign consulates are illegally operating within the Hawaiian Kingdom.

  3. Aloha Hawaiian Kingdom,
    If the U.S. is operating under their treaty illegally as of 1893 and if a country that have made a treaty with Hawaii and didn’t give notice of intention to terminate the treaty in accordance with the terms of Article XVI of the 1849 Treaty. Then, does all treaties that were made with the Hawaiian Kingdom still exist today? When the Hawaiian Kingdom is restored is the treaty still valid and does those countries need to first terminate the U.S. treaty agreements before they can consider operating in the Hawaiian Kingdom and recognize their treaty agreement with Hawaii?

    • E Kala Mai Hawaiian Kingdom,
      My research through your post on United States of America—1849 Treaty of Friendship, Commerce and Navigation. Paragraph 4 states: Therefore, this treaty is still in full force and continues to have legal effect to date. This answers my previous question: Then, does all treaties that were made with the Hawaiian Kingdom still exist today?

    • There is a comprehensive listing of Legations & Consulates available online on page 9 of the “Hawaiian Gazette” for Tuesday December 31, 1889.
      The Kingdom also had Legations in Gibraltar, the Society Islands (Papeete & Tahiti), South Africa, etc. The Consuls and vice-Consuls are listed by name coupled with their dates of commission. Aloha.

  4. Are any of the buildings these legations or consulates were housed in still extant? Or is there anywhere we might find even a plaque marking the former site of one of these legations?

    I find myself in New York, Washington, Boston, London, San Francisco, and Tokyo from time to time and would love to see one of these, even if it’s nothing but a plaque or marker.


Leave a Reply